Notyalcsdrawkcab’s Weblog

June 27, 2010

The King is dead

Filed under: Football — notyalcsdrawkcab @ 9:02 am

Long live the king.  Shunsuke Nakamura is no longer THE man on the Japanese NT, or in the Japanese public`s consciousness.

I always respected Nakamura, without becoming a fan.  He went to Europe, was successful.  Scored important goals for Japan.  I respected his calm play and ability to keep the ball.  But I never got the feeling that he was “special”.  His general play never wowed me.  I never saw him drive at the defence, or play the killer ball.  Rewatching the Aus vs Japan 2006 I thought he was quite peripheral, and wished that Nakata was playing in a more advanced position instead. The Aus vs Japan qualifier in Yokohama last year, I couldn`t shake the feeling that Endo was the more important player for the Japanese NT.

But reading about him on Wikipedia, watching some highlights from his Serie A days, I get the feeling that I didn`t see all there is to Nakamura.

PS.  Good luck finding a Keisuke Honda jersey for sale ATM.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

