Notyalcsdrawkcab’s Weblog

February 9, 2010

Is a premiership / championship double “better” than a championship by itself?

Filed under: Football — notyalcsdrawkcab @ 12:19 am

I was wondering about this … I read something a while ago talking about the A-league champions – Season 1 till now.

And the tone in the article held them all in the same regard – equal respect for the Champion SFC team, the Newcastle Jets, and the Victory.

It was a really good article – can`t think where I read it tbh.  But I found that point a touch puzzling.

I place a team capable of winning the premiership and the championship upon a higher pedestal than one that wins the championship alone.  “Champions” and “Champions +”.  And I wonder who will be the first team to join Melbourne in the “Champions +” category.

And I wonder how long till the next one comes along.  Currently 2 out of 5 seasons have had a Prem/Cham double – I expect that percentage to lower over time.  So when it does happen next – it`ll be a pretty tasty, pretty unusual achievement.

Or am I enamoured with something that doesn`t really matter?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

