Notyalcsdrawkcab’s Weblog

September 14, 2008

Recycled from the Happiness blog – Videogame Love

Filed under: Videogames — notyalcsdrawkcab @ 11:32 am
It all started with a Commodore 16 Home Computer. It had a tape deck and connected to a TV. I know it was fun, but the memories are blurry. The same for my cousin’s Atari 2600. My first true ‘WOW!’ moment was when I played Mario Bros 1. I can still picture that game now. Before Mario, I was amused. After Mario, I was hooked.

I have had the NES, the SNES, the N64, the Dreamcast and the Gamecube. I also play my girlfriend’s Playstation 2. I started out loving fast reaction/action/twitch muscle games. Fast reactions, bright colours. The last couple of years I have more played more dramatic games as well.

Random Thoughts on Random games;

Zelda, Ocarina of Time. Amazing sense of wonder. Beautiful world. I could have cried when Gannendorf used the gems I collected to take over Hyrule. I have fonder memories of this game than most fantasy books or movies I have experienced recently.

Shenmue. Wow. Ambitious. They tried to make something more realistic than anything out there. Flawed. You were constantly funnelled to a range of restricted choices. I had a great time on the first play through. And the girl factor? I thought a game character was hot (that is a bit disturbing).
Streetfighter. I started to play SF maybe 3 years ago. My first impression … this is average, a bit dull. But then, I did a special to finish a guy off. AND THE SCREEN FLASHED GREEN!!! As stupid as that sounds, it was, and is, a blast. The speed, timing and balance are great, and I have a soft spot for colourful sprite graphics.

Anything by TREASURE. Treasure are the kings of action games. Bangio! Little Robot. More enemies than a Jacky Chan Flick. And Bombs! So many bombs!!! These guys understand the pleasures of risk and reward. Ikaruga. Simple. Beautiful. Intelligent. You cannot talk and play this game at the same time. Not that you would want to.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

